W.I.P. Wednesday {4.6.16}

I haven’t shared a WIP Wednesday here in a long time!  Today I’m going to show you a quilt that (according to Instagram) I started planning in September of last year.  It is my version of the 2015 American Patchwork & Quilting quilt along (#apqquiltalong).  The magazine started having a quilt along in 2014 and they’ve already published their 2016 version…so I’m a bit behind in getting this one completed 😉

I am using Lissa Alexander‘s Rainbow Rows quilt as my inspiration.  I’m making mine a lot larger (102″ square for our king sized bed) and instead of using setting blocks and borders, I am just extending my blocks all the way to the edges.  Here is a sketch of my plan.

Sea Glass Strips sketch

And here are some progress photos from the last few months.  Still cutting…

IMG_3091

Everything finally cut to start piecing…

All cut up

This pattern calls for piecing together these strips and then sub-cutting into 1 1/2″ paired segments. After the pieced pairs are cut, you create 4 patch units.

There are two blocks in this quilt.  The block below uses five 4 patch units paired with four 2 1/2″ squares and finishes at 6″ square.

IMG_3061

Here is a photo with all of my green/low volume 4 patch units complete and getting ready to piece the aqua/low volume 4 patch units.

IMG_5093

I haven’t been working this quilt consistently (because I’ll be honest, once I got everything cut I needed a BREAK!).  And then I needed another break after I pieced and sub-cut the strips, and yet another after I pieced and pressed the green/low volume 4 patches.

Now I am working on piecing the 626 aqua/low volume 4 patches that I need.  I currently have 200 done.  Even though I’m not finished, I couldn’t wait to make a few more blocks and see how this will look.  I’m so glad I did, because now I have these hanging on my design wall as inspiration to FINISH IT UP!

IMG_5104

Just keep sewing…

IMG_5105

Do you have any WIP’s that you need to work on in segments like this one?

Amanda

7 thoughts on “W.I.P. Wednesday {4.6.16}

  1. I love your color choices in your quilt. I have this one tagged in my ever growing pile, but what holds me back is …. I made a postage stamp quilt and it is a really heavy quilt. I have since discovered some lighter batting. Do you have an opinion on whether or not quilts made of small pieces end up being heavy quilts?

    • Hi Melodee, I think you are right that some quilts made with lots of tiny pieces end up being heavy…in fact I’ve teased with my husband that this might end up being the heaviest quilt in the world! I’m going to do a bit more research to determine the best batting in this instance. I may even have to back it in a lighter fabric to save us from sweating to death while we sleep 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing that you needed to take a break from this quilt sometimes. I thought I was the only one who did that! Additionally, I love how organized you are. It will be beautiful when it is done…it already is!

  3. I love that you are not doing any strip piecing. That will really add to the beauty of this. As for all those seams, I do a lot of string quilts and I love using wool batting. Light weight. Breathable. Hand quilts beautifully.

  4. Wowza! That’s a lot of piecing! Smart to finish a block so you can see the rewards of all of your hard work. It’s going to be fabulous. Go, girl, go!

Post a comment

