W.I.P. Wednesday {5.13.15}

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve likely seen these photos, but I wanted to share them on here as well. Β I finally had a break from deadline sewing and pulled out some of my most treasured fabrics to make something fun and just for me πŸ™‚

So, I held my breath and cut into my fat quarter bundle of Denyse Schmidt’s Picnic and Fairground fabric line. Β It wasn’t easy at first, but look at how perfect it isΒ in theseΒ CheerioΒ quilt blocks!

Picnic at the Fairground WIP

I finally got my quilt top put together over the weekend and just love it. Β And it was perfect timing that I started this because my friend KellyΒ is hosting a fun quilt along on Instagram called “My Precious Quilt-A-Long” where you pull out some of your “precious” fabric and {gasp} use it! Β πŸ™‚ Β You can find out more info. on the #mypreciousqal hereΒ (and there will be prizes given to some random winners who participate!)

Picnic at the Fairground quilt top

Now to decide on the quilting and get it finished…

In the meantime, I started cutting into some colorful solids for a special gift quilt…here’s a little sneak peek. Β I promise to show you more once the gift has been delivered πŸ™‚

triangles

So, are there any particular fabrics that you’ve been holding on to and need to finally make something with? Β If so, I’d love to hear your favorites.

Amanda

6 thoughts on “W.I.P. Wednesday {5.13.15}

  1. I have some…not sure exactly what they are. I’m always scared about finding the right pattern, or right complimentary fabrics to use with them.

  2. Your quilt turned out just Great! Makes me wish I hadn’t sold all my Picnic and Fairground I had been saving. I have lots of older lines I need to use like: At the Waters Edge, Aster Manor, Gypsy Rose, Dandelion Girl, and Fig & Plum. All these I treasure but need to make quilts from them.

  3. Oh wow, love the quilt. I have fat quarters of Flea Market Fancy (old DS) fabric and I have pulled it out at least 10 times, decided on a project, then put it away. I am now inspired to make the Cheerio quilt with it, which I have also been wanting to make. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. I have a huge FQ bundle of Shimmer fabrics…just looking for the perfect modern pattern to use them with!

  5. I have a beautiful imported Ghanian fabric in turquoise, gold, red, with a little brown and cream that I have been saving. I am just working on a quilt for a dear friend and I will use a chunk of it as the centerpiece. It has such a gorgeous and varied pattern that I will leave the center as a whole-cloth panel, then do some pieced blocks around it.

Post a comment

