Inside Addition {a finished mini quilt!}

Happy 2015!!  So far I’ve started off the year with a quick and happy finish….YAY!!  Introducing my Inside Addition mini quilt.  It’s cold and rainy here today, so these are the best photos I can get.

Inside Addition Quilt

My friend Jessica, who blogs over at A Little Gray, shared this fun block she designed on Instagram and I fell in love.  Her block design finishes at 7 1/2″ (cutting requirements and diagram can be found here).   She started a little quilt along for anyone who is interested in sewing along with her, and of course I jumped right in.  I love the block and was happy to put some of my scraps to use, but knew that I just didn’t have time in my schedule to work on (yet another) full sized quilt.  So I scaled the block down a bit to finish at 5″ (cutting requirements can be found here), and made a mini quilt finishing at 20″ square.

Inside Addition quilting detail 2.jpg

I used Aurifil 50 wt. 2600 (dove gray) and quilted straight lines 1/4″ apart.  After I started quilting, I began to question my insanity, but thank God it’s a mini quilt and I made it through 🙂

Inside Addition quilting detail

I love pretty much everything about this quick finish.  It has some of my favorite fabrics and really is a great way to use up your scraps (especially if you have time to do the full size block and make a bigger quilt!!).

Cozy corner

Now it lives in this happy/cozy corner of our house.  And I’m sure I will smile each and every time I pass it by.

Journey - Live Laugh Love.jpg

So, what are you hoping to be your first finish of 2015?
Amanda

16 thoughts on “Inside Addition {a finished mini quilt!}

  1. I love that basket on your fireplace – I assume those are rolled up quilts inside? Can’t wait to do that in my house! I’m working on the 2nd of two matching (inverse twins) t-shirt quilts from Cape Cod (t-shirts span from 1999 – 2013). They will go on twin beds in a cottage on Cape Cod. One of my resolutions is to finish quilts that have been paid for.. This will put me much closer! Quilt 1 of the set just needs the binding! 🙂

  2. I just saw this earlier today on IG and was in love with it! I am going to hop over and check it out! Thank you so much! xxoo

  3. I love this quilt, and appreciate you sharing your cutting instructions for the mini version. I have a question for you–what size are your finished hst’s? I saw that you are cutting them 3″ square, but before I start sewing these tiny darlings, want to be sure I’m trimming them precisely. ( I should be able to do the math, but I’m taking a migraine med that is giving me fuzzy math brain.) Thanks for sharing your process, and for any help with this.

Post a comment

