I’m a Calendar Girl {well maybe it’s one of my quilts}

Yes, it’s true, one of my quilts (that I made over a year ago!) has been published in American Patchwork & Quilting’s 2015 Calendar.  And here she is, Miss January 🙂

102164147
USED WITH PERMISSION FROM American Patchwork & Quilting 2014. MEREDITH CORPORATION. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

 

I really love this quilt.  It’s the first time I have used any Liberty of London fabrics (all of the blues) and my first medallion quilt design.  My local quilt guild member and friend, Lynette Reynolds, quilted it for me.  Just take a look at the amazing work she did.

 

Miss January - American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar

 

The quilting on the blue fabrics is a little more difficult to see, but the center star is amazing!

Miss January - American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar

 

And just look at all of those perfect little pebbles 🙂

Miss January - American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar

 

Here it is now hanging in our bathroom above the garden tub.  Doesn’t it look like it was made for this space (and the blues coordinate so well!)  I still need to add an extra hanging sleeve in the middle so that the hanging rod won’t show.  (Note to self, if your quilt is 48″ or larger, do a sleeve…not just corner hangers!)

Miss January - American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar

 

I’ve been joking at our house that since my quilt is January I can just rip off all of the other months and stare at it all year long!  Of course then I wouldn’t be able to enjoy the 11 other beautiful creations in the calendar, so I guess I won’t 🙂

Check out the calendar cover, isn’t it so cute?  I love how they staged this shot, very patriotic!

2015.pp01-CalendarCvr-
USED WITH PERMISSION FROM American Patchwork & Quilting 2014. MEREDITH CORPORATION. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

To celebrate my very first in print publication, I’ve decided to give away a calendar (complete with instructions on how to make each of the 12 projects in the calendar) to one lucky winner.  All you have to do to enter the giveaway is leave a comment below.

Thanks so much for stopping by and good luck!

Amanda

89 thoughts on “I’m a Calendar Girl {well maybe it’s one of my quilts}

  1. Congratulations Miss January!
    I love your quilt – the blue fabrics by Liberty are gorgeous. My favorite one is the Charles Rennie MacIntosh design.
    Your friend did a beautiful job of quilting it!

  2. Amanda, your quilt is just wonderful….beautiful design, color choices and quilting…wow! I have followed you for quite a while and I am glad you are published. Congratulations on an elegant piece. 🙂

  3. Congratulations!! It is good to see how to use a medallion design and Blue…it’s my favorite color. The different patterns of quilting really help accentuate the pattern. Thanks for a chance to win a calendar. Please autograph your ‘Miss January” page.

  4. Congratulations on your first publication. Your work is very nice and I absolutely love the way you package your fabrics when purchased.

  5. Your quilt is a great way to start the new year. I would love to look at it over my ironing board. Thanks for the chance to win.

  6. I live reading your blog Ms Amanda! You do beautiful work. Can you enter the giveaway without having a wordpress blog? I can’t seem to figure that out.

    Thanks! Susan

    >

  7. Such a beautiful quilt. It’s my favorite color and it looks stunning. Congratulations on your spotlight in the magazine. You should be very proud☺

  8. Lovely Quilt Amanda, so traditional and yet those Liberty fabrics just sing in it. Reminds me of my blue and white quilt, but of course yours looks so much better with the professional machine quilting! Lovely Pebbles. Congrats on the calendar and keep up the good work!

  9. Your quilt is beautiful! I’m always drawn to quilts in blues… It’s been my favorite for a long time. And yours is just gorgeous! Congrats on the publication!

  10. I hardly ever enter these draws… because I never win but I would really love to win this one so I’ll give it a try. Amanda, your quilt is so nice ! I’d love to make something similar for a friend who says ” I like all colors, as long as they are blue ! ”
    I hope you can tell us where this calender can be purchased. Congratulations on the publication.

  11. What an honor for you. But, of course, you make beautiful quilts worthy of it. I could stare at it for a long time, too.

  12. I love the medallion quilt. I made a sampler quilt with the medallion but still have not quilted it because I had no idea where to start. You have now given me some ideas so maybe it will come out of the unfinished projects box soon.

  13. adore the blue and white quilt – I have a collection of batiks, oranges and browns that I think would look wonderful using this pattern….hope I win, hope I win, hope I win……

  14. Congrats – and the pattern and colors are great together. I enjoyed looking at all the quilting as well. If I don’t win (sad times) how can I purchase one?

  15. Congratulations on Miss January! Special congrats on having enough LoL to finish the quilt!!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  16. I am absolutely loving your quilt. It’s really striking. Congratulations on being Miss January. I love when the patterns are with the calendar too. Thanks for doing such a fun giveaway. cdahlgren at live dot com

  17. I had a calendar of quilts in my office last year, and it was the highlight of my work day sometimes, looking at them, and imagining how much fun it would be to make them!

  18. I am very into mini quilts these days, I haven’t made a medallion one yet. Love your design, and congrats on getting into the calendar!

  19. Congratulations! What an amazing quilt and amazing accomplishment! One of my favorite calendars! Great way to display our love of quilts!

Post a comment

