Quilted Memory Pillow {for the best of friends}

Most of us have that one friend who sticks with us through thick and thin.  I am lucky enough to have a special friend like that who has been my bestie since junior high/high school.  We have gone through a lot of ups and downs so far in our lives, but this past summer was the lowest point yet.  You see, my friend’s mom passed away very unexpectedly from congestive heart failure.  I will never forget that day when she called to tell me.  Of course I immediately dropped what I was doing and drove to be by her side.  We are both very close to our mothers (they in fact are our first best friends) and Mama Rita’s death has been devastating for my friend, Nikki, and her family.

Today is Nikki’s birthday, her first without her mom.  And of course Sunday will be her first Mother’s Day without her as well.  I really never have any words to properly convey my sorrow and grief for my friend, mostly just my time, love and hugs.  So, for her birthday I decided to make a memory pillow with one of my favorite photos of the two of them on the front.

Quilted memory pillow front

And now whenever she needs to hug Mama Rita, she can just hug this pillow.  It’s not much, but it came from my heart and I know that’s what counts to Nikki.

The fabric I used to frame the photo is Tim Holtz’s Dictionary print from his Eclectic Elements line.  And Aurifil’s 50 wt. #2000 blends in perfectly with the text print.  I think some of these words are perfect…

Memory

memory

Forgive

forgive

Curiosity

curosity

Flourish and Amusement

Flourish and amusement

And for the back I used this adorable mushroom print that I found in the FQ bin at my local JoAnn’s.  When Nikki opened up the pillow and then flipped it over, her two daughters both gleefully shouted…MUSHROOMS!  Mama Rita was a huge fan of mushroom hunting, and this was one of her favorite times of year.  🙂

Pillow back

So, if you don’t mind, please keep my dear friend in your thoughts and prayers this week as she experiences some bittersweet moments with her family to celebrate her birthday and Mother’s day.

Much love,

Amanda

9 thoughts on “Quilted Memory Pillow {for the best of friends}

  1. You are the best a friend could ever have and so thoughtful!! I hope your friend is surrounded by people who love her and together new and wonderful memories are made.

  2. What a wonderful memory for your friend. This is my 7th Mother’s day without my mom and I still miss her so much. We learned to quilt together in 1980 and this brought us together and became best friends.

  3. I’m going to be honest, I’m crying reading this post! That is the most thoughtful present I’ve heard of in a long time and I’m sure your friend will cherish being able to “hug” her mom through your pillow! She’s got a great friend in you!

  4. You are a Golden Friend. Time you have given to your friend is the priceless gift, and the thoughtfulness of the hug pillow is proof; you are you. Blessings to you and your friend.

  5. I’m a notorious side sleeper and was looking for more support for my neck. I recently returned another memory pillow I ordered off Evergreen srl, as it was junk. This is my second attempt at finding a decent pillow… And I think we may have a winner!

Post a comment

