Bonjour Mon Ami Baby {the last finished quilt for 2013!!}

Since I’ve been off work for winter break, I was able to squeeze in one more quilt finish in 2013. ย You may recall this beautiful stack of fabric from a couple of weeks back.

Bonjour Mon Ami bundle

I had originally purchased it planning to make a 16 patch quilt. ย And when I found out a friend was having her first baby girl, I just knew I had to use these pretty fabrics. ย I wasn’t sure if I should use a different pattern, but in the end I stuck with my original plan of the 16 patch. ย I followed Steffani’s tutorial for the St. Louis 16 patch foundย here.

Bonjour Mon Ami baby quilt 2

I love the colors in these fabrics. ย They are very feminine without being too “pink”. ย The St. Louis 16 patch tutorial uses fat quarters and will give you 14″ finished blocks. ย That seems rather large for a baby quilt, but I think it turned out beautifully and with 3 rows of 3 blocks, it works out to be a perfect baby size of 42 1/2″ when finished.

Binding roll

For the quilting I used Aurifil 50wt #2600 which is a perfect shade of light gray to blend with all of these different fabrics. ย I quilted an allover loopy meander and love the way it looks, especially after it is washed and crinkly ๐Ÿ™‚

Bonjour Mon Ami quilting detail

Since I started with 12 fat quarters, I had a total of 12 finished blocks. ย While I was laying them out I decided to only use 9 for the front and then move the three extras to the back of the quilt. ย Can you believe that I actually was able to line them up perfectly with the quilt top so that I didn’t have to add strips on each end?! ย I was pretty happy with myself after that one.

Bonjour Mon Ami baby quilt back

This makes completed quilt #22 for the year!

Quilt Stats:

  • Pattern: St. Louis 16 patch
  • Fabric: ย Bonjour Mon Ami by Amanda Murphy for Blend Fabrics
  • Thread: ย Aurifil 50wt. #2600
  • Size: ย 42 1/2″ square

Thanks so much for stopping by and I hope you all have a wonderful new year!

Signature

9 thoughts on “Bonjour Mon Ami Baby {the last finished quilt for 2013!!}

Post a comment

