Oh Boy! {a finished quilt}

Today I’m so happy to share this fun baby boy quilt.

Baby boy quilt cover

The design was inspired by Made by Rae’s Storytime Squares pattern. ย I altered it a bit because I used 5″ cut squares and did not add the last sashing border. ย It was so quick and easy to put together I have decided that I must make another one in the future. ย My version finishes at 36 1/2″ square, perfect for toting along in the diaper bag or covering a car seat.

Baby boy quilting detail

The best thing about this quilt is that everything was pulled from my stash! ย No trips to the store were necessary (I really need to do more of this). ย I think my favorite fabric in this quilt is the donkeys wearing Wellies…adorable!

For the quilting I did a simple meander across the printed blocks and quilted the borders differently using my favorite Aurifil 50 wt. color #2021. ย I love the effect it creates.

Baby boy quilting detail

I almost had enough of this fun boy basketball print for the back. ย I really wanted to use it because this baby boy’s dad loves basketball and even coaches the high school team. ย So, to make it big enough I simply added a bit of the stripe fabric I used for the binding. ย It worked out perfectly.

baby boy quilt back

It was so nice to work this quick and fun quilt into my project list. ย Instant gratification is necessary at times ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks so much for stopping by,

Signature

26 thoughts on “Oh Boy! {a finished quilt}

  1. Those fabrics are so fun! I literally just posted my version of the storytime squares quilt top, and as soon as I saw yours, I thought, “I like it without the outer border!” I might try that on the next one that I make. I like the texture that your quilting added to the sashing.

  2. The white border with the different quilting just makes this quilt. So fun! I like the backing fabric too AND you got the striped fabric lined up squarely. I’m afraid mine would lean.

  3. I love your quilt. It really makes up so cute as a baby quilt. I might have to use your method to make one myself. I like to have things on hand if it is needed.

  4. So beautiful! great fabric and perfect quilting choice.

    I love being able to just pull from my stash–don’t get me wrong because I love shopping for more fabric, but to do an entire project with what I have on hand is a great feeling.

Post a comment

