Churn Dash {a finished quilt}

It’s almost Friday and I am back to share another finish with you today. ย This quilt was made for my dad’s girlfriend who fell in love with the hydrangea fabric when I pieced a pineapple quilt with it a few years ago. ย Sadly I still haven’t quilted that top, but it’s on my list ๐Ÿ˜‰

ย churn dash quilt

I had quite a bit of the fabric left over (I’m guessing I was planning to use it on the back of my quilt…but alas, that hasn’t happened. ย So, I decided to make her a quilt with it instead. ย I’m not sure, but this might be the first two color quilt I’ve made. ย I love the simplicity and crisp look of two color quilts and I think this one fits the bill nicely. ย The true colors of the fabric are best shown in the below photo which was taken before it was quilted. ย Unfortunately once the quilt was done and ready to be photographed, the clouds came out!

ย churn dash quilt top

It’s a simple churn dash block and I switched the placement of the blue and white fabric on each alternating block. ย I think it makes a great secondary design and fun effect in just the two fabrics. ย For the quilting I wanted to get it done quickly because of a few other deadlines I have looming, so I used my standby Aurifil 50wt #2021 and created large loops in a meandering fashion.

ย churn dash quilting

The backing fabric is Ty Pennington’s Impressions in Taj Blue and I think it goes so well with the hydrangeas. ย (By the way, this fabric is on sale in the shop for 40% off!) ย I bound it with the hydrangea fabric and I think the blue finishes it off perfectly.

ย churn dash back and binding

So, have you ever done a two color quilt before? ย What are your favorite two colors to use/see in a quilt?

Linking up with Amanda Jean at Crazy Mom Quilts.

Thanks for stopping by,

Signature

16 thoughts on “Churn Dash {a finished quilt}

  1. I love this quilt! Does it need a new home? Lol great job. Do you have any of the fabric left? Blessings, barbara

  2. This really turned out nice. I love the fabrics. I have not yet done a two-color quilt but my favorite two colors are blue and white; next choice would probably be red and white. This is really gorgeous and I agree with the comment that it looks nautical. I can see it going along on a sailing trip. Great job! It’s hard to get the UFO’s done when other projects keep popping up.

  3. This year I made a 2 color blue quilt with one print and one solid. I was pleased with it but my favorite is a Kona Cheddar and Snow pinwheel quilt. I was obsessed with Kona Cheddar for some time and now I think it is Kona Stone that has me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Next 2 color project is a herringbone pattern.

Post a comment

