W.I.P. Wednesday {7.31.13}

It has been a very rough week around here because of the unexpected death of my lifelong best friend’s mother.  So, instead of making a lot of progress on my sewing projects, I have been spending time in more important ways like being there for a friend and loving on my family.  It certainly is a reminder to never take the time with your loved ones for granted.  Don’t miss the opportunities to say I love you and give a hug or kiss.  You’ll never regret loving too much 🙂

I did spend some time on Saturday in the sewing room though, because afterall, sewing is truly my therapy.  I am trying to get caught up on my Lucky Stars blocks.  This one is from May.  I LOVE it!

 May Lucky Stars block

And here are the first 5 months together. I’m thinking this is going to look awesome once I have 12 blocks done!

blocks

I have selected and cut the fabric for my June block, but realize that I won’t get it done as well as July’s block before I receive the instructions for August tomorrow!  Especially since at our house, it is the first day of school.  Samuel is now a 2nd grader and headed back to school too early if you ask me.  Our schools have moved to a balanced calendar, so they get 2 weeks off in the fall, for Christmas and in the spring, which makes summers much shorter.  It’s a trade off that I’m sure I will learn to enjoy.  I really would rather take vacations in the fall than in the summer anyway.

2nd grade

Linking up with Lee at Freshly Pieced.

Thanks for visiting,
Amanda

10 thoughts on “W.I.P. Wednesday {7.31.13}

  1. I love these blocks and your fabric choices and can’t wait to see how you put them all together. First day of the new school year – exciting!

  2. Sincere condolences on your loss. May you and your friend find some gentle peace in the coming days. I do like your block. Good luck with the new school calendar.

  3. I love these colors together, it is going to make a gorgeous quilt! So sorry to hear about your friends loss, I’m glad you have been able to support her. Can’t believe its back to school already, we still have 3 weeks and I’m sure that time will fly by.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear of your friend’s mother, Amanda. Your star blocks look amazing though and they will make an absolutely gorgeous quilt (quilting is my therapy too). We’re starting school on Monday here (well, teachers started last Monday), and I must agree- too early!!

    🙂 Kelly

Post a comment

