Giveaway Day with Sew Mama Sew!

It’s that time again…Giveaway Day!

For those of you who are here for the first time, welcome! My name is Amanda and I appreciate you stopping by. I hope you take a moment to look around and see what all I’ve been up to. πŸ™‚ Also, check out my fabric little fabric shop www.materialgirlquilts.com

For the Giveaway Day with Sew, Mama, Sew!, I have decided to offer two Bungle Jungle charm packs by Tim and Beck. These would be perfect for a new baby quilt or project.

bungle junble

Now for the details on the giveaway.

UPDATE: THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED. THE WINNER WILL BE ANNOUNCED 12/08/12.

To enter:

  1. Leave a comment and tell me your favorite family holiday tradition.
  2. (optional) Follow my blog via email (click on the β€œfollow” button on the right) or Facebook for a second chance to win.

Rules:

  1. The giveaway will close on the evening of Friday, December 7th.
  2. I will announce the winner on Saturday, December 8th.
  3. Take a look around at Sew, Mama, Sew! for more wonderful giveaways!

giveawayday2012

Have fun!

Signature

332 thoughts on “Giveaway Day with Sew Mama Sew!

  1. Thank you for sharing your adorable charm packs with us. :o)
    My favorite holiday tradition is having a house full of friends and family on Christmas day. There is so much life and joy. :o)

  2. I think my favorite holiday tradition might be buying gifts for Toys for Tots. I learned so much about my mother via this tradition. I saw how thoughtful she was, and how she considered which kids to buy for–knowing that more people liked to buy for toddlers and little kids than for big boys. I remember lessons she taught from the heart, like when she gently chided me for wanting to drop off something smaller and less special–I was thinking of it as an extra toy but she said, “That may be the only gift some child gets for Christmas”. She was right, and in that reminder I heard the echo of a little farm girl who might have received only one gift at some time.

    My mom has been gone since 2000, but every year when I donate to Toys for Tots, I buy two toys–one from me, one from her–and I think of my mom and the lessons she taught me about real charity.

  3. Well today I made christmas cookies with my grandson, so today that is my favorite πŸ™‚ I just love digging out my grandma’s old recipies and making them with my grandchildren.

  4. My Favorite Holiday is Thanksgiving: It is just about being together! OK OK and some Really good food too! Would love a chance at the charm packs. I am heading into the Grand baby phase (Soon!) of life and think this would have me a bit more prepared than what I am at this point.
    I am a follower by email.

  5. Amanda my neighbor and best friend has a monkey – a real monkey! I’d love to make her something with this fabric. πŸ™‚ My favorite holiday tradition is the lighting of the Advent candle. We began it when my children were very small and continued it until they were grown and gone. Now that it’s just my husband and I we still participate but at our church now. blessings, marlene

  6. My brother and I still make a gingerbread house together every year even though we’re in our 20s now and include my husband and his girlfriend.

  7. I still make the steamed Christmas pudding that I remember from my childhood. Last year I didn’t make it because I feel like I’m the only one that eats and ALL my adult children complained – I’m making it again this year! πŸ™‚

  8. It’s a new tradition for us but I like it so far. 25 books of Christmas for our daughter. She gets to pick a book (that’s wrapped) each night and then we read it before bed.

  9. Opening Christmas stocking together in our bed… even though the boys are almost 18 &16…They wouldn’t give up stockings for anything – I even asked them this year if they’d rather have one gift! Nope stockings! The fabric is cute – thanks for the give away

  10. Starting when I was a freshman in college, my Mom would make this wonderful Chinese meal for Christmas dinner. Thanks for the giveaway.

  11. Getting together with family, otherwise, it`s different almost every year…it`s at our house for the first time this year!

  12. We live in New Mexico and on Christmas eve our town lights farolitos. Our family takes a drive around town to see them and then come home to hot chocolate and we read Twas the Night Before Christmas.

  13. My favourite Chanuka tradition is having one dinner where we eat nothing but Latkes… all we can eat, with applesauce. Mmm. Also, started a new tradition last year where we make latkes from the potatoes we grow in our garden.

    This is an awesome giveaway. Thanks for the opportunity!

  14. A newish one (the kid is only 4 πŸ™‚ ) is helping my daughter with her very own Christmas tree. It’s just 2 feet tall, but lets her have complete creative control. πŸ™‚

  15. My favorite holiday tradition is driving around with the family, listening to Christmas music and looking at Christmas lights. My parents have started renting a 15 passenger van so the family (kids, spouses and grandkids) can all go! Then we go back to my parents’ house to eat sugar cookies we decorated earlier in the day and drink hot chocolate. (Except this year it is unseasonably warm so we may have to drink chocolate milk instead!)

  16. My favorite tradition is going into the woods with my family, my parents and my sister and her family to cut down our Christmas tree. We’ve done it every year for many years and it’s always a great time.

  17. our favorite tradition is having the extended family all get together for a mid-day dinner and exchange presents – it’s low-key family fun

  18. Our family (okay, mostly me) makes a ridiculous number of cookies and passes them out to friends, family and neighbors. Everyone loves getting cookies.

  19. My favorite tradition is decorating the tree with family while listening to Christmas music. Thanks for the chance at your giveaway.

  20. Thanks for the chance to win. My favorite holiday tradition is making tamales with family and friends.
    suzanne dot jourdan at gmail dot com

  21. I love that every year I always know that one of my presents is going to be a box of chocolate covered cherries from my son. My mama used to always give me a box at Christmas, and now my son makes sure I get a box.

  22. Lovely giveaway. Thanks! Our favourite Christmas tradition is an advent calender which we open together as a family each evening.

  23. My parents always read my brother and I ‘The Night Before Christmas’ on Christmas Eve and I am continuing this tradition with my daughter. Thanks for the giveaway. I have a lot of baby quilts coming up soon.

  24. Living in a ski resort community, each year on Christmas Eve we bundle up to watch the Torchlight Parade of skiers that come down our mountain. Christmas music is piped across the mountain and the red flares the skiers carry light up the night sky. Carols are sung, hot chocolate and cookies are to be had, and everyone has a cheery Christmas hello.

  25. My favourite tradition is gathering the whole family. We live in different places and this is the only time of the year we all gather.

  26. My favorite holiday tradition is having breakfast around the tree and then throwing wadded up balls of wrapping paper at one another as we open gifts. Wonderful memories! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  27. Favorite holiday tradition: Making “Sticky Balls” on Christmas Eve to eat on Christmas morning. (a lot like cinnamon rolls…) Thanks for the giveaway!

  28. Enjoying each other with a good meal! It may not be on Christmas Eve or Day because of work schdules but at long as we get together!
    hulseybg at gmail dot com

  29. My family and I put on The Muppets Christmas Carol and decorate the tree together. It is just some simple silly family time, and that’s happy!

  30. My favourite holiday tradition involves my two daughters. Every year we search the town for a new ornament each. As they grow you see their tastes changing, Spongebob Squarepants will always have a place on our tree but now they look to more shiny sparkly ornaments.

  31. My favorite holiday tradition is a big box that my kids get to open on Christmas eve. It is filled with new pjs, a new Christmas story, fun mugs, hot cocoa mix, and a Christmas movie. We all snuggle up and enjoy being together!

  32. My favorite holiday tradition is watching all the holiday movies. Fortunately I have some of my favorites on Cd’s because my Spanish isn’t fluent enough to follow what is showing here on TV. This will be our 4th Christmas here in Mexico and I do miss spending the time with family & close friends like before, We are slowly making new traditions with our adopted family down here.

  33. My favorite Christmas tradition is to take my boys (separately) to buy presents for one another. I love the twinkle in their eye when they are trying to find that perfect gift for their brother.

  34. My favorite holiday tradition is putting on some Christmas music and decorating the tree with my family. Thanks for the chance to win.

  35. Our one family holiday tradition is that I have to make stuffing for the turkey on Thanksgiving. One year I just did not make any and the world as our boys know it almost came to an end. Now they get Stove Top Stuffing and give me such a bad time but hey they got their stuffing.

  36. I am a follower and enjoy getting your e-mails. I have a great niece or nephew due in January and those charm packs would be ideal because we don’t know which one it will be until after he or she are born. Thanks for the chance to win. Daisy

  37. OUR FAVORITE FAMILY TRADITION AT CHRISTMAS IS SHARING+READING THE CHRISTMAS STORY OF THE BIRTH OF JESUS!
    THANKS FOR A NEAT GIVEAWAY!

  38. My favorite holiday tradition is that we get all our extended family together, for a couple of days at least, sometimes for the only time each year. I love to catch up with all my cousins, aunts, uncles and nieces and nephews! πŸ™‚

  39. Our favourite tradition is the ongoing teaching the kids about giving and making presents for their teachers/friends. Thanks

  40. The first weekend in Advent we all go home to mum and dads and decorate the trees, put up the lights and eat great food and spend time together to prepare for the Busy season.

  41. The Jesse Tree – as a family we hang a new ornament and read the scripture each day. You can see a photo of my Jesse Tree ornaments in my Etsy shop (Pink Scissors Design).

    Deborah
    pinkscissorsdesign @gmail .com

  42. I have two fave family traditions – the 1st one is picking out our “perfect Christmas tree” and the second is leaving out the milk and cookies for Santa with my little girls (and of course carrots for the reindeer) on Christmas Eve! Thanks so much for the wonderful giveaway!

  43. It’s tough to pick ONE favorite tradition, but one that is always near the top of my list is our traditional Christmas morning breakfast – muffins and hashbrown casserole – yum! Thank you for the giveaway!

  44. My mom’s side of the family always plays Dirty Santa with a twist. Instead of drawing a number to choose a gift, you pick one when you BINGO. So the first to get a b-i-n-g-o picks the first gift to open. It gets pretty fun πŸ™‚

  45. It’s putting up the tree on the 1st December. Love that. It’s always so exciting taking it down and remembering all the ornaments and decorations the box holds.

  46. We have chinese food on christmas eve because my moms favorite show is the Christmas Story. My dad always read the night before christmas to us, now he reads it to my kids πŸ™‚

  47. Every year my mom gets my 3 children a Hallmark ornament to add to their collection. My oldest is 20 and still gets a charge out of her Barbie ornament. This year we are making our first tradition on Christmas Eve and trying to figure out something that will be memorable for all of us. Thanks for the chance.

  48. Okay, I know this is very selfish, but visiting my mother in Christmas. She’s the best cook in the world. No, really. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  49. My favourite holiday tradition is the Swiss Fondue dinner with the whole family on Christmas eve – it’s been established for almost 25 years now πŸ™‚

  50. I like to take the kids to see all the decorations & lights on Candy Cane Lane in our city. They love it so much and it’s fun to hear all the oooohs & ahhhs! Thanks for a chance to win! πŸ™‚

  51. My favorite family holiday tradition…..well, Thanksgiving is our big family holiday, and over the last few years we’ve tried to make a number of the dishes from things harvested on our own land. This has been pretty neat. πŸ™‚

  52. We refuse to wake up anywhere other than our house on Christmas morning. I love that peaceful time with my husband and two sons.

  53. My favourite tradition is my daughter sleeping under the newly decorated and lit Christmas tree. It makes me smile thinking about it. The tree isn’t up yet, I’d better get going!

    Thanks for the chance to win.

    ktreve (at) hotmail (dot) com

  54. On Christmas Eve, we go to my sister’s house and have clam chowder then attend Christmas Eve services with her family. It’s my favorite day of the holidays.

  55. I love spending Christmas Eve on the beach with my children and husband. We eat hot chips, watch the sun set and splash in the water.

  56. I am so looking forward to cozying up by the fire at my in laws, and drinking coffee, and waiting for the cinnamon pull apart to be done!

  57. Gorgeous fabric. Love the colours. Putting up our tree would be my favourite family activity. Thanks for the opportunity on the draw and Merry Christmas to you
    bonnielarson58(at)gmail(dot)com

  58. What a cute pattern and colors! Any baby would love it…so would I! I guess my favorite tradition was the baking. I did it all. I baked enough during hte holidays to support 2 bakeries! I baked for our h ome, for gifts and for the “big day”. I started the saturday after thanksgiving! Sorry to say, I don’t do it anymore (no family!) and sure do miss it!
    Thanks!@
    http://www.squidoo.com/lensmasters/coffeebreaker

  59. My favorite family tradition is exchanging Christmas stockings stuffed with little gifts on Christmas Eve. audiodropzone(at)gmail(dot)com

  60. Every year we pick an angel from the angel tree and try to give someone a nice Christmas. Usually we pick a child but last year I picked a senior citizen. I think I will do that again this year. I think they are sometimes the forgotten ones.

  61. Kellie S. I love your idea of picking a senior-I think I am going to do that this year!
    A favorite tradition of my family involves ringing a bell on New Year’s Eve. I gave my parents and my sister bells that match mine. We all ring them on New Year’s Eve, so even though we aren’t together in person–our bells are ringing together.

  62. My favourite tradition is decorating Sunday – I always put up the decorations on the 1st or 2nd Sunday in December and it must be done with Christmas songs, mince pies & mulled wine!

  63. We start the day on Christmas gathering at my mother’s house for a breakfast together of pancakes with fresh berries, it’s such a lovely way to start a family day. πŸ™‚

  64. WOAH! Thanks Amanda for a chance to win the bungly jungliness – I have been watching for it to be on sale because I want to make a quilt for my preggo friend with it. AS far as holiday tradition? On Christmas day, after we gift and whatnot in the morning, we make a big breakfast and make special coffee (tipple of Kahlua) and sit down to watch National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. We have been doing this for about 15 years now. Wouldn’t miss it for the world! What’s your fave tradition?

  65. My favorite holiday tradition is Christmas Eve dinner with my family and then heading out to look at Christmas lights around town. πŸ™‚

  66. opening stockings on christmas morning! my mum still does ones for me and my brother and we are in our 30’s! (with our own kids) πŸ™‚
    amers56(at)hotmail(dot)com

  67. My family goes to Christmas Eve Mass and then afterwards gets a pizza to eat while we drive around looking at Christmas lights

Post a comment

