Yellow and gray “brick” quilt

I have been collecting a few yellow, gray and white fabrics for a little while and just love the way these colors go together.  I decided to make a quilt for my long time friend from childhood (and one of the most caring/giving people on the planet!!)  We have been through almost everything together and I can’t imagine my life without her, so for her birthday I was finally able to reveal my latest creation.  Our school colors growing up were black and gold…this is a much more modern/pretty twist on those colors too 🙂

I didn’t use a pattern for this quilt, just cut my fabrics into “bricks”, added a little white sashing between the blocks and went from there.  I’m happy with the way it turned out and was able to quilt in straight horizontal lines every inch across the quilt. 

The fabrics used in the top come from Michael Miller, Free Spirit and Amy Butler. 

I love Amy Butler’s Ivy Bloom fabric from her Lark collection so much I just had to use it on the back.  You can find this fabric in my shop.

My favorite part of this quilt might just be the binding…I love the diamonds and circles.

There is somthing so wonderful about giving a quilt to someone who truly appreciates it for what it is and the work you put into making it.  Happy Birthday Nicole Marie!!  Love you to your bones 🙂

Now, back to my to-do list!

Amanda

8 thoughts on “Yellow and gray “brick” quilt

  1. Amanda, your quilts are so beautiful. Keep up the awesome work. I am so glad that a wonderful craft like quilting is being carried on through you. Best wishes!

  2. Your quilts are so nice! The materials are beautiful! I am impressed with your website, blog & wow a newsletter too? Keep going & good luck.

  3. I LOVE my quilt! Thank you so much, Mandy Kay! And this post just made me year up. This is one of the most precious gifts that I have ever received! Love you!

  4. I would love to know what your top fabrics are called. I’m searching but not finding any of them except the bird fabric. Any help?

    • Ashley, two of the geometric prints (one all gray and white and one with yellow gray and white) are from Jenean Morrison’s Silent Cinema line (Free Spirit Fabrics). The gray and white bumpy looking stripe is from Lotta Jansdotter’s Echo line and I think it is called Lina (Windham Fabrics). The other stripe with white, grays and yellows is by Michael Miller in the Citron Gray collection. The small diamonds inside circles that is also used for the binding is a Free Spirit fabric, but I can’t remember the line and I don’t have it in front of me. I will double check on that one though…it is awesome! The dark gray and white floral also used on the back is Amy Butler and I have some of that listed in my shop. You can email me if you would like a smaller or larger cut. Good luck!!

  5. My daughter in law found this beautiful quilt and loves it so much! She is expecting their first child in two months so I am going to make their nursery bedding like this! Can you tell me what size you cut the bricks and white sashing pieces? I can’t wait to get started! This will be the beautiful vintage look they were searching for to welcome their new baby! Thank you!

Post a comment

