Lucky Star Quilt {Blogger’s Quilt Festival entry}

Today I’m pleased to share my Lucky Star quilt.  (By the way, every time I say or type that name, I sing Madonna’s song in my head :)

Lucky Stars Quilts on bench

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you have most likely seen some of the blocks in this quilt before.  They are from Elizabeth Dackson’s 2013 Lucky Stars block of the month.  I’m not the best at paper piecing, and this block of the month really challenged me as the year went along.  It seemed that the blocks progressively got a little more complicated (or at least contained a lot more pieces!) as the months passed.

Lucky Stars quilting detail

 

There are times when I didn’t like the challenge, because I often like to get things done quick.  When I was finished with each of these blocks I truly felt a sense of accomplishment and that I had increased my quilting skills.

Lucky Star quilting detail

 

And if challenging myself with the piecing wasn’t enough, I was convinced by one of my free motion quilting idols, Judi Madsen to take some of the shapes in the blocks and extend them into the vast negative space on the side.  I will be honest, I was completely TERRIFIED before I finally made myself start quilting.  And the result is far from perfect, but I am now thrilled with how it turned out.  I used Aurifil 50 wt. #2600 for the front and #5006 (a light aqua) on the back.

Lucky Stars quilting detail

 

I have learned a lot in the process of making my Lucky Star quilt, but most importantly I have learned to never stop challenging myself and trying new things.  Besides, what fun is it to keep creating the same things over and over and over.  I will of course continue to love making the simple quick quilts, just for the pure satisfaction I receive in completing something that I know someone else will use and love.

Lucky Stars in grass

 

Looking at all of the blocks, it’s pretty hard to choose a favorite, but I think I can narrow it down to a couple.  One of them would be the top left block in the photo below.  It had A LOT of pieces in it, but when finished looks so pretty and almost like a flower.

Lucky Stars blocks 2

 

Another favorite is the bottom left in the next photo…I just love the tiny lime green pinwheel in the center, and it also includes some of my all-time favorite fabrics. :)

Lucky Stars blocks

 

After church today, the boys and I went out on a little photo shoot and the sun was so bright that it was difficult to get a good shot without bad shadows, but I’m not complaining about the sun anytime soon.  I am more than ready for warm sunny weather to come and stick around.

Lucky Stars quilt

 

Now, if you aren’t familiar with the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, click here to find out the details, view a ton of beautiful quilts and even enter to win a new sewing machine!  I am submitting Lucky Star into the Modern Quilt category and you can find all of the entries for that category here.  Next week you can vote for your favorite quilt in each of the categories, so if you are so inclined, I’d love to have your vote :)

Thanks for stopping by,

Amanda

40 thoughts on “Lucky Star Quilt {Blogger’s Quilt Festival entry}

  1. This is gorgeous! a lot a lot of work. I wouldn’t say far from perfect, you are being too hard on yourself there. This is beautiful quilting, well done.

  2. Such a wonderful quilt, and the quilting looks great too. Never quit challenging yourself, and never quit growing! You’re awesome.

  3. You did such a beautiful job piecing those blocks! I’m doing the smaller size and they’re kinda kicking my butt (too many seams…!)

    She did beautiful quilting on it for you – wow!

  4. I also participated in the Lucky Stars. BOM and my blocks are totally different. I love the way you stuck to the same color palette throughout, and the way you’ve set your blocks. Never thought of that! And to quilt some of the stars in the negative space was genius! Job well done, you can be proud!

  5. I’m interested that you chose a different color in your bobbin than for your top thread. Someone recently advised me against that. You didn’t have any problems with either thread showing on the wrong side of the quilt?

  6. I have loved these blocks since the first time you posted a photo. The quilt turned out wonderful and your quilting amazes me. AWESOME!

  7. Beautiful workmanship. Congratulations on taking the challenge of both paper piecing and free motion quilting those gorgeous patterns. I know how much time and skill that took. You have my vote. I entered the large quilt category, but my pic is only from flickr. I am not ready for a blog…

  8. This quilt is just beautiful! Love the colors, layout and the FMQ. Way to push your boundaries and then to have this be the reward!

  9. You did such a great job on the placement of the blocks, the paperpiecing and the free motion quilting! A great quilt to remember those challenges by!

  10. Dropping by from BQF, the stars are stunning but the showcase of the quilt is your quilting in the negative space – just perfect to repeat the designs across the whole quilt, amazing :D

  11. Way to go taking chances and trying new things! It really paid off in this beauty. The quilting is show-stopping and the paper-piecing give not evidence of your original trepidation.

  12. I LOVE what you have done with the FMQ on this quilt – it is a wonderful use of negative space and really lifts the quilt. I bet you were pleased with the result. You should be!

  13. Really cool quilt. The blocks are awesome but I think I like the quilting best, with the blocks echoed out there on the side. Well done!

  14. I love the colours you chose for this quilt, the way they are a panel in the negative space and the quilting, in fact this whole quilt is a wow. Well done for the perseverance with something you find hard as well.

  15. Pingback: Blogger’s Quilt Festival {time to place your vote!} | Material Girl Quilts

Post a comment

