W.I.P. Wednesday {2.19.14} and another U.F.O to banish!

With all of the preparing for my upcoming Layer Cake Sampler QAL, I was itching to do some sewing on a quick finish.  Then in the mail I received the latest issue of Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting magazine (March/April 2014) that included a pattern for the coolest modern tote bag…

photo (15)

This was designed by the super talented Nicole of The Girl Who Quilts.  I love everything about this tote, the bold colors, size, shape and awesome quilting.  So, I dug through my scrap bins and found a nice collection of solids that I thought would work.

Here are my two outside panels all quilted up.

panel 1

Now hopefully I can finish this before the weekend :)

panel 2

Last night was our monthly quilt guild meeting and I was able to show my finished Swoon quilt, so month 1 of the 10 in 10 challenge was a success!  In fact, almost 40 quilters either finished or make great progress on their assigned UFO for this month.  The number they pulled for us to complete by our March meeting is 4.  On my list that is my Pineapple Quilt.  This quilt top has been sitting finished for a few years, so thankfully all I have to do is quilt and bind it.  The problem is I have NO IDEA how I want to quilt it!!!  (Hence the reason it’s been sitting unfinished for so long).

Pineapple quilt top

If you have any ideas on what I should do for the quilting on this, I would greatly appreciate it!!  Please let me know your thoughts.  I’m really kind of stuck on this one.

Pineapple quilt detail

Linking up with Lee at Freshly Pieced.

Thanks so much for stopping by,

Signature

18 thoughts on “W.I.P. Wednesday {2.19.14} and another U.F.O to banish!

  1. I don’t know why I’m such a fan of stitching in the ditch. I suppose that may change when I get back my professionally quilted quilt today! I wouldn’t have any idea how to quilt that one Amanda…

  2. What a cool bag! I’d like to make one myself. And…quite a contrast to your pineapple quilt which is absolutely lovely. Something clean and crisp looking about blue and white quilts. I don’t think the quilting will show very much on this busy quilt so I wouldn’t stress over it and just put it on the machine and go (easy for me to say). :-)

  3. Love the bag, it’s great! As for the quilt, it’s traditional, maybe feathers? You could also look at others Pineapple quilts and see how they’re quilted. It’s beautiful, by the way. I’m looking forward to the Quilt Along.

  4. I couldn’t get my comment on how to quilt the pineapple to work. I did one and simple stitched in squares in the center of the strips. I used what you have in light fabric as the corners of my square. It was prefect, although I did get confused a couple times during the process. Oh well, any good project has some reverse sewing!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  5. For the pineapple quilt a few thoughts come to mind–simply stitching in the ditch around the main blocks, since the pattern and piecing is so intricate. Another idea would be to do some kind of dense quilting in the blue areas and leaving the white areas to be highlighted.

  6. Most definitely swirls for the pineapple. They would look beautiful as a counter-balance to all those straight edges. Looking forward to the QAL.

  7. Love the bag but that quilt is beautiful! Reminds me of lilacs and makes me wish for spring soon :) PS – my fabric arrived for the layer cake QAL today :)

Post a comment

