Swoon {a finished quilt!}

The Swoon quilt is done!!!  And thankfully I got it finished before our 10 in 10 quilt guild challenge deadline :

Swoon Quilt

I love the colors in the Salt Air line by Moda.  The recipient asked for a “beachy” quilt and we both thought this ocean inspired collection would be perfect.

Swoon quilting detail

For the quilting I made my first attempt at free motion swirls using Aurifil 50 wt. #2021.  I was hoping to get the effect of waves breaking.  I obviously need a lot more practice with my free motion quilting, but overall I’m very pleased with how it turned out.

Swoon quilting 2

This block with the blue center and green bubble fabric was my favorite, so I used it as the centerpiece of the quilt :)

Swoon quilting 4

I also love the shades of red in this one.  Last night I put the quilt in the washer and made my boys say a prayer with me that the red wouldn’t bleed onto all of the white fabric…and thankfully it worked!

Swoon quilting 3

For the binding I used one of the stripes from the Salt Air line and took the extra effort to make sure each seam created a perfectly matched stripe.  As you can see it was well worth it.

matched stripe bindine

I just love a pretty binding roll :)

binding roll

For the back I chose a sunny yellow fabric from the Avignon line by Riley Blake.  It kind of helps chase the winter blahs away.

Swoon binding

Now that it is done I can get it delivered to the gift recipient.  I sure hope she loves it!

Swoon Quilt 2

Quilt Stats:

  • Pattern:  Swoon by Thimbleblossoms (although I added a little wider sashing)
  • Fabric:  Salt Air by Moda for blocks and binding; Moda Bella Bleached White (9900 97) for background and Avignon by Riley Blake for backing
  • Finished Size:  82” square
  • Thread:  Aurifil 50 wt. #2021

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Signature

32 thoughts on “Swoon {a finished quilt!}

  1. It’s a lovely quilt and your quilting looks very professional. You are right about the binding being worth the trouble to match stripes. Looks great!

  2. IDK, I’d say that your free-motion quilting is fabulous. What a lovely quilt this is and what a delightful touch of Summer on a cold, snowy Winter day.

  3. Anyone would like that quilt! The material, the blocks, your quilting – everything is great. I really love the blocks. You do such a great job.

  4. Amanda, it is fabulous!! Everything, the fabric, the perfect piecing and the swirly quilting, is amazing! Super work!!! Can I ask you where you get your labels? This is exactly the style that I want to get!! Thanks!

  5. I’ve been looking for the salt air fabrics forever. One in particular. Can you still get them??

    On Friday, February 14, 2014, Material Girl Quilts wrote:

    > Material Girl Quilts posted: “The Swoon quilt is done!!! And > thankfully I got it finished before our 10 in 10 quilt guild challenge > deadline : I love the colors in the Salt Air line by Moda. The recipient > asked for a “beachy” quilt and we both thought this ocean inspired > collecti”

  6. I love your version of Swoon! The quilt is gorgeous. This pattern has been on my to-do list for ages; I must start mine. Thanks for the inspiration.

  7. I’m actually about 30 minutes south of Indy. I’m by the outlet mall on I65. Im looking for something around Indy that has members that I can learn from….I’m a new quilter. :)

  8. If she doesn’t like it, which is doubtful, I’ll take it! LOL You did a great job, and the quilting looks fine. I haven’t progressed beyond straight line and meandering.

  9. Pingback: W.I.P. Wednesday {2.19.14} and another U.F.O to banish! | Material Girl Quilts

  10. Pingback: Swooning Over Moda’s Salt Air | A Graceful Exit

  11. I’ve made Swoon and I love it too! I love Salt Air as well and your quilt looks magnificent in it. Well done quilting it yourself. I’ll send mine out to someone for that. It’s too big for me to feel confident that I wouldn’t wreck it with my fmq.

  12. Pingback: Baby Cakes {a finished quilt!} | Material Girl Quilts

Post a comment

