Layer Cake Sampler Quilt Along

Layer Cake Sampler QAL button2

I am so happy to announce my first quilt along at Material Girl Quilts!  I hope you will join me as we choose our favorite layer cakes to create the Layer Cake Sampler Quilt.

For this quilt, we will be using 2 layer cakes to make twenty 16″ finished blocks (one print layer cake and one solid).  I have already finished a quilt using layout option #1 (shown below).

Layout Option #1:

  • Finished Size:  80” x 98”
  • Fabric Requirements:
    • 1 print layer cake (blocks)
    • 1 solid layer cake or 3 yards cut into 40 – 10” squares (blocks)
    • 1 ¾ yard solid for sashing (cut carefully, there is very little extra)
    • ¼ yard or fat quarter for cornerstone squares
    • 1 yard for border
    • ¾ yard for binding
    • 6 yards for backing

Layer Cake Sampler quilt

Here is layout option #2 which is what I’ll be working on during the quilt along.  It has 16 of the 2o blocks on the front and I plan to use 4 of my blocks pieced into the back.

Layout Option #2:

  • Finished Size:  79 ½” x 79 ½”
  • Fabric Requirements:
    • 1 print layer cake (blocks)
    • 1 solid layer cake or 3 yards cut into 40 – 10” squares (blocks)
    • 2 yards solid for sashing/borders (cut carefully, there is very little extra)
    • ¾ yard for binding
    • 5 yards for backing

Layer Cake Sampler version 2

Of course you can create your own finishing layout once your blocks are pieced too!  I can’t wait to see everyone’s variations of the sampler when we are done.

Now, to help you get started, Moda has graciously joined with me to offer some layer cakes for a lucky follower so that they can quilt along :)  For a chance to win a Chance of Flowers and Bella solids layer cake all you need to do is leave a comment below.  I will choose a winner on February 14th.  **I ask that the winner quilt along at his/her own pace and share a photo of their completed quilt top by the May 16th finale.  You don’t have to be a blogger to win!  If you have no other way to link up your photo, you can just email it to me and I will link it up for you :)

photo (2)

Here are the details for the full quilt along schedule:

February 21st – Basic block piecing instructions and Blocks 1 & 2 demonstration

February 28th – Blocks 3 & 4

March 7th – Blocks 5 & 6

March 14th – Blocks 7 & 8

March 21st – Blocks 9 & 10

March 28th – Blocks 11 & 12 (halfway link up with prizes!!)

April 4th – Blocks 13 & 14

April 11th – Blocks 15 & 16

April 18th – Blocks 17 & 18

April 25th – Blocks 19 & 20

May 2nd – Final quilt layout options and piecing instructions

May 16th – Finished Layer Cake Sampler Quilt top link up (with fabulous prizes to be given to several randomly chosen winners!!)

This schedule should allow plenty of time for everyone to get their blocks done and also allow for late comers to join in on the fun :)

I have created a Flickr group for sharing your fabric selections, block progress and finished quilts.  If you aren’t a blogger, this is a great way to share your block photos each week.

If you are an Instagram user, pleae tag your photos with #layercakesamplerqal so I can find you!

I hope you join me on this quilt along and let me know if you have any questions.

Signature

245 thoughts on “Layer Cake Sampler Quilt Along

  1. What a beautiful quilt! This will be my first quilt along. I am so excited. I would love to win these layer cakes to use. :)

  2. This is a fabulous quilt! I am so excited to begin the quilt along with you soon! Mods offers such exquisite fabrics – it would be fun to win!

  3. Wow what a beautiful quilt. Would love to join the quilt along and have my fingers crossed for the giveaway. So excited x

  4. I would love to quilt along. Sandy Gervais has been my favorite designer since I started quilting. Thanks for the chance to win.

  5. I’ve never done a quilt along before, so I am really excited about making this beautiful quilt! And of course that fabric would be awesome to win! :-)

  6. I adore this quilt! I think I may be in for the quilt along… (Never done a QAL, but this quilt is way too gorgeous to resist!)

  7. Both layouts look great, but I’m really drawn to the second layout. I think it’s because it reminds me of the quilt my friend made for me since it has a dark background. I just want to cuddle up with it and nap.

  8. I would love to win this gorgeous fabric and quilt along. I have never done a sampler quilt before, and I think now is the perfect time to make one! Thank you for the chance to win!

  9. I have never been in a quilt along but finally have time to join one yours sounds as if it was one I could accomplish. Thanks for the chance to enter to win the fabric to use in your quilt along

  10. I love the darker background. I think I’ll try for that. Winning would be awesome! I’ve never done a quilt along either. Hopefully I can keep up with your pace.

  11. What a great giveaway! I have used precuts and so very much enjoy them but if I were to win this it would be the first time I used two coordinated layer cakes! what a treat if I would! thanks for the opportunity to try

  12. Looks like a lot of fun! I don’t always have a lot of time but would love to try to keep up. It’s amazing how different the darks look compared to the lights! Thanks so much for the chance to win – and thanks to Moda too for the beautiful layer cakes! ;)
    samtaylorcjsmimi at yahoo dot com

  13. I would love to do option #1 with you. I will be gone the first 5 lessons but hopefully could catch up. Would love to try a sampler quilt with layer cakes. I’ve quilted for a while but not a sampler.

  14. I’ve never done a quilt along before but have always wanted too. It would be so exciting to win this fabric and join in on the fun!!

  15. Wow! I love the idea of this sampler and it will be great for using up some of my extra fabric as well. Thanks and looking forward to it. I think I will need to buy some solid to go with if I don’t win.

  16. I have been sitting on a layer cake of “Sunkissed” by Moda for a while now. And you have finally given me something to do with it!!!!!!!! Can’t wait to get started!

  17. I’m in…I just ‘happen’ to have a layer cake that is begging to be used…of course, ANOTHER one would just leave me with TWO big quilts!!! Thanks for the chance!

  18. Sounds good. I haven’t got a layer cake project going, so this will be just perfect. Just don’t tell my husband I’m starting a new project. He thinks I should finish all my other projects first before starting something new. I won’t tell him if you don’t. Lol.

  19. Beautiful fabrics and the sampler looks like “a zillion ways to have fun with HSTs” or are they QSTs? Anyway, it looks like a fun way of piecing 20 different blocks while perfecting your technique with triangle squares. I’d love to join the fun!

  20. I’ve never used layer cakes but would love to give this a try. Your quilt is exquisite! What a fantastic Valentines Day gift for the lucky winner. The best kind of cake – no calories and yummy fabric!

  21. Super selection of blocks you have selected for this quilt – fits right in with my quilt guild challenge for the year – thanks so much for sharing!

  22. I am loving this pattern! Cannot wait to get a couple layer cakes and get started (will also be my first quilt along). That aurifil thread is awesome!!!

  23. I can never resist a QAL, so I must join. Would love to win the layer cakes, but will hit my local quilt shop anyway. Thanks

  24. I love this sampler quilt along! Would love to win a layer cake – Moda fabrics are buttery soft and rich in color/patterns!

  25. So exciting!!! This will be great for me to get into quilting again. Looking forward to seeing all the different color combination people come up with…….lots of inspiration :)

  26. Thanks for the chance to win this beautiful fabric!!!! It would be so much fun to join in and make this sampler quilt!!,

  27. This is a dream come true..been wanting to do a quilt along…so if I were to win a fabric set too…well, color me happy!

  28. About the only thing stopping me from joining this quilt along is the cost of the layer cakes. I would love to do this!

  29. I’m in, can’t wait to get started. This will be my second sampler quilt. My youngest took the first one with him when he moved to Maryland, so I need a new one.

  30. Your sample is so awesome and I love the dark background on the navy quilt! Making blocks is one of my favorite things so hope to join the QAL.

  31. I’m looking forward to this Quilt-a-long. The blocks look a bit challenging, triangles are not my best piecing project, but I am ready to give them another try. Thanks for the chance to win “Chance of Flowers”–just in time for Spring.

  32. what a great idea, might just have to join though i need another project like a hole in the head but it is seeeew tempting, thanks for the chance to join in.;

  33. Beautiful sampler quilt. Looking forward to working on the quilt along. Of course, winning the drawing would be an added bonus!!

  34. I love layer cakes and other Moda precuts because much of the hard work is already done, and all the fabrics work so well together! Thanks for this great Quilt Along, and for the chance to win!

  35. I have many layer cakes in my stash to choose from, but if i won I’d gladly use those from Moda. I love getting new patterns too so this is great inspiration.

  36. Just found your blog. I have some layer cakes sitting in my stash ready to go. Great idea. Thanks for sharing. I love a good QAL

  37. I would love to win the layer cake a be able to participate in this quilt. I am currently out of work due to having reconstructive foot surgery, This would be great for me to participate due to being home for 6 months. I am a nurse and I would enjoy this project. Thank You

  38. QALs are a lovely way to join with others. I would like to have a chance to win `Chance of flowers`and `Bella Solids` layercakes. I will join in with `Material Girls` for this delightful sampler.

  39. I have always wanted to make a block of the month kind of quilt. This quilt seems like the one I have been looking for!! – thanks

  40. Hi Amanda! I’m here from Julie’s blog, and so glad I found you. I’m a new quilter who has been wanting to join a quilt along, and yours is perfect for me. I’m in! Also, I’m now following you. I love Moda, and would be thrilled to win the layer cakes. Thanks for the chance. I can’t wait t o get started and share my progress on my blog A Joyful Cottage.

  41. I think I may have FINALLY found a project to use my 1/3 yard cuts of blues and greens I purchased at my LQS a while back (we won’t specify how far back!) along with dark brown background fabric. I know I’ll have to cut them down, but I think this will be the perfect project, plus I can make a few extra blocks to make it bigger! Plus, there should be plenty of motivation to get this done finally by following along. Thank you so much for sharing this lovely project with all of us!

  42. Pingback: Layer Cake Sampler {first quilt finish of 2014!} | Material Girl Quilts

  43. You picked a beautiful layer cake for the give away – I just got a charm pack of that for another project. It will make a beautiful quilt! Thanks for the chance to win!

  44. Thanks for hosting this quilt along. It sounds like fun. Love the Chance of Flowers layer cake, I am so looking forward to warmer spring weather.

  45. Pingback: Layer Cake Sampler QAL Winner (and additional prize announcements!) | Material Girl Quilts

  46. I’m sew excited! I’ve never signed up for a quilt along but this quilt, these designs……I just have to go for it! I can’t wait to see everyone’s blocks. I joined the Flickr group this morning. I’m so happy I found you today!

  47. I would love to join in the quilt-along, and it would be even more fun with these beautiful fabrics. If I don’t win, think I will just dig into my stash, but really want to participate. Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  48. Pingback: get a life | wips & tuts

  49. Pingback: Front porch charm pack

  50. I love Quiltalongs They keep me focused on a project and I love the encouragement of other quilters who are joining in. I have purchased layer cakes, but have not made anything with them yet. Thanks for organizing the quiltalong. I can’t wait to start.

  51. Pingback: I’m participating in a Layer Cake Sampler Quilt Along, join in too! | Anjeanette Klinder

  52. Pingback: Fabriholics Anonymous – February Check-In |

  53. Pingback: layer cake sampler quilt along…blocks 1 & 2 | wips & tuts

  54. Pingback: A little tutorial on making practically perfect points in quilt blocks | Anjeanette Klinder

  55. I have a question about the color of the solid in the picture with Change of Flowers…as I have to order online, can you tell me which color of the solids it is? Thanks so much!!

  56. Pingback: The Finish Line is Near… | clothworkers

  57. Pingback: Quilt #23: 2wenty Thre3 Happy Stars | With Elephant GraceWith Elephant Grace

  58. Pingback: Weekend Roundup- Free Quilting & Sewing Patterns 3/16/14 | Ormond Beach Quilts

Post a comment

